Sunday, February 26, 2012

1940 Census Tips

1940 Census Is Almost Here

At 9:00 a.m. on April 2, 2012, users will be able to search, browse
and download the 1940 Census schedules from their own computers,
free of charge. This is the first time the National Archives has offered the Census on-line.

You won’t be able to search the census by name right away on April 2nd., instead you’ll need to know the enumeration district (ED) your relatives lived in and then browse the records for that district. You can find the ED if you know your ancestors address in 1940 or 1930.

Family search is heading up an effort to index the 1940 Census records
ASAP after they are released, which will let genealogists search by name. also has announced plans to provide the 1940 census for free, at least through 2013.

You can prepare for the launch by searching the 1940 Census maps and
enumeration district descriptions in the National Archive’s Online Public Access catalog at archives-gov/research/search then browse for the 1940 Census Census population schedules for that enumeration district.

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Books I have for Lookups

Books I have for Lookups:
Some books do not have indexes, please state where they lived.

North Dakota
Traill County of North Dakota
Walsh County of North Dakota
Morton County of North Dakota
Foster County of North Dakota
Cass County of North Dakota
Fort Ransom area of North Dakota
Minot-Ward County of North Dakota Centennial
McHenry County, North Dakota 1885-1985
History of Dakota Territory/South Dakota Its History and Its People 1915
Almont, North Dakota History Book
Douglas, North Dakota Centennial Book
Richland County, North Dakota

Clay County
Norman County
Little Sketches of Big Folks
Winona County
Dakota County
Faribault County
Fillmore County
Freeborn County
Hennepin County
Jackson County
Lyon County
Nobles County
Houston County
Meeker County
Olmsted County
Otter Tail County
Renville County
Rice County
Steele County and Waseca County
St. Paul Ramsey County
Duluth and St. Louis County
Douglas County and Grant County
Rock County and Pipestone County
Ulen, Minnesota
Hawley, Minnesota
Twin Valley, Minnesota

Winnebago County and Hancock County
Webster County
Monona County
Clayton County
Story County
Winneshiek County
Allamakee County

South Dakota
History of Minnehaha County

Vernon County
Rock County

A History of the Norwegians of Illinois
Lee County

Contact: Margit (Nysetvold) Bakke